Product Review – Rimmel Match Perfection Foundation

 

photo courtesy of Rimmel London

SMART-TONE TM technology adapts to the colour and texture of skin. Flawless natural finish. With an Oxygen Complex. Lets your skin breathe

Two posts in one day? Unheard of!

Anyway, this marks my very first review for ABJ (A Broken Jar), which is a shame seeing as this product gets a big black mark in my book.

Look, I actually do like Rimmel. I’ve recently been using their Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation, and I do quite like their lipsticks. However, I popped into Priceline on Thursday on my lunch break at work, and saw that all Rimmel foundations were on sale for $15. Rather than re-buying the Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation, I chose Match Perfection as I wanted to try a different foundation from their range. I actually wanted to try their Stay Matte foundation, but they didn’t have any in my shade (100 – Ivory for Rimmel). I also wasn’t overly sure on their Wake Me Up Foundation, as I do have fairly oily skin, and any extra sheen isn’t really necessary…

There was nothing wrong with the colour – the colour matched me quite nicely, and blended well. The packaging was simple and effective – a clear glass bottle with a blue pump, and a clear plastic lid to protect the pump. I much prefer pump-style liquid foundations over just plain glass bottles (Maybelline SuperStay 24HR Foundation is an example), as smacking the product out onto the back of your hand after a while gets pretty painful… Anyway, those parts of the product I did like.

I wore it to work on Friday, on top of Benefit’s The PoreFessional and Estée Lauder’s Smoothing Creme Concealer, with a dusting of Maybelline’s Oil Control Powder to set it all. Usually, I don’t have to touch up during the day – well, apart from my nose, I’m guilty of frequently rubbing it – so lately, I haven’t been bring my Oil Control Powder to work with me. Come lunchtime, when I went to the bathroom and saw the horror that Match Perfection had turned into, I’m starting to wish I had brought my powder!

Boy, oh boy, it was a greasy, oily mess. Yes, I know I have oily skin, but compared to the wear I get out of their Lasting Finish 25 Hour Foundation, it was pretty pitiful. I know it wasn’t my skin going whacko, because I have been following my usual skin regime and hadn’t done anything different to make the foundation practically slide off my face.

So, sorry Rimmel, but your Match Perfection Foundation is going to be the very first product on my Product Wall of Shame page!

I have provided photos and a swatch of this foundation below. Has anyone else, regardless of skin type, had the same issue with this foundation?

Leave a Reply

