Product Review – Lush Enzymion Moisturiser

Photo courtesy of Lush Cosmetics

Oh, Lush. I am one very very happy less-oily-faced kitten! I have been on the hunt for a moisturiser that doesn’t make my already oily face feel like I’ve dripped more oil all over it. Something nice smelling, light-weight and something that is somewhat affordable that actually works. Seems simple enough, right?

I’ve lost count of the moisturisers I’ve tried! Dermalogica made me oiler, Clinque was nice, but still not exactly what I was after (yes, I used the moisturiser targeted towards oily skin), and all the billions of various brands I’ve wasted money on did nothing.

Until now.

If Enzymion were a man, I’d profess my love to him and propose marriage. No, seriously. I would.

I picked up this little jar of heaven when Lush was having a sale earlier this year, and only paid something like $18 for a 45g jar (it’s usually $36.95). Please do not let the price scare you off – this has lasted me ages! Look:

I put this on every morning and every night, and there’s still 3/4 of the jar left. So you’re definitely getting value for wear. This does have an expiry date of 12th October, 2012, so be mindful of the expiry date when purchasing. But seriously guys, 10 months is plenty of time!

Lush describes Enzymion as a “brightening moisturiser to make oily skin matte and dull skin radiant. Enzymion is for oily skin. Does yours reflect light a couple of hours after cleansing? Enzymion goes straight for those oils and makes them disappear. Helen’s amazing formula of cleansing juiced papaya, blended with soothing aloe vera, absorbs oils naturally. We mix it with an infusion of brightening fresh lemons and sweet grapefruit and lime oils to refresh and tone your face. Then, we whisk in the organic butters to moisturise and soften your skin

Hmm, not sure about the lemon scent – I can definitely smell a mixture of avocado and papaya fruit however, both of which went into the making of this moisturiser – Ingredients listing was taken off the Lush website.

Fresh Organic Lemon Infusion (Citrus limonum), Organic Aloe Vera Gel (Aloe barbadensis), Cocoa Butter (Theobroma cacao), Stearic Acid (Stearic Acid), Freshly Juiced Papaya (Carica papaya), Organic Cold Pressed Avocado Oil (Persea gratissima), Glycerine (Glycerine), Triethanolamine (Triethanolamine), Freshly Juiced Organic Lemon (Citrus limonum), Organic Cold Pressed Evening Primrose Oil (Oenothera biennis), Organic Cold Pressed Wheatgerm Oil (Triticum vulgare), Tangerine Oil (Citrus reticulata), Lime Oil (Citrus aurantifolia), Cetearyl Alcohol (Cetearyl Alcohol), *Limonene (*Limonene), Perfume (Perfume), Propylparaben (Propylparaben)

Then again, my sense of smell is fairly terrible, so you should definitely have a whiff of it yourself before purchasing!

When I first started using this, I used quite a fair bit of it during application -which you shouldn’t do!!You only need a minute amount, seriously. A little bit goes a long way! If you use too much (and I mean basically packing it all in truckloads), your face will feel heavy and still look oily. Small amounts, people!

I wear this under my makeup in the morning, and combined with Maybelline’s oil controlling powder, this baby sure does its job! Usually, when I used a moisturiser as my primer/base, my makeup would slide off after a few hours of wear. Not anymore. I cannot stress how bloody good this moisturiser is for us oily faced girls! (and guys). I’m pretty keen to check out their face masks targeted towards oily skin as well. That chocolate one looks mighty enticing!

Would I buy this again?: I would buy truckloads of Enzymion if I could, regardless of the price. Take my money, Lush, take it all! Just give me my Enzymion moisturiser!

Product was purchased by myself with my own hard earned cash.

One thought on “Product Review – Lush Enzymion Moisturiser

  1. Pingback: Current Skincare Regime | A Broken Jar

Leave a Reply

