How To: Clean Your Makeup Brushes

Now, before I begin, there are many different ways and products you can use for cleaning your makeup brushes – this post just describes the way I like to clean my personal makeup brushes.

I try to clean my brushes every weekend, especially when I know I won’t be going out the next day (just in case the brushes are still wet). Every fortnight for cleaning your brushes is perfectly fine, too.

One thing to remember when purchasing new makeup brushes from online or in-store, is that you should clean them before use (especially for in-store purchases). Can you imagine how many people have been running their dirty hands all over your lovely new makeup brush, that you’re about to use on your face? Yeah. This is why it’s a good idea to wash all new brushes before use!

There are plenty of home-made/DIY brush cleaner recipes you can find on the internet, or you can just use specific brush cleaners, such as MAC’s Brush Cleanser. You can also chose to use shampoo or conditioner, or face wash, like I do.

I try to use a gentle face wash/cleanser to leave the bristles nice and soft. This is not my daily face wash – this was an item I received in my BellaBox subscription, and had no desire to use it for washing my face (I’m an oily skinned girl, this cleanser will definitely not help me), so I started using it to clean my makeup brushes.

Washing/cleaning your brushes is a piece of cake! Simply pump out or pour the solution you’re cleaning your brushes with into the palm of your (clean) hand, coat brush with said solution and gently wipe back and forth – never tip brush upside down and swirl violently, as this will damage the bristles!

Repeat this until you can get all the old product off your brushes, give it a final rinse, squeeze out any excess water and lay down to try. You can either lay them down flat or store them upside down if you have a way where they don’t rest on their bristles. Never store them the right way up when wet, as the moisture can drip down into the brush and damage the glue – it can also cause splitting in wooden handled brushes, so be careful!

I’d be interested to see what everyone uses to wash their brushes – this is a method that has been working for me for quite some time now!

2 thoughts on “How To: Clean Your Makeup Brushes

  1. Wow! This worked like a charm, thanks. I think the most surprising thing is that I had that exact foam cleanser already in my bathroom? Haha! 😉

    • That’s okay, I’m glad it helped! 🙂 I found it made my brushes unbelievably soft, especially my stippling brush. At least I could get use out of the cleanser somehow, ha.

Leave a Reply

