Glamour Doll Eyes – Product Review

A few months ago, I purchased a variety of samples from Glamour Doll Eyes and fell in love with their gorgeous colours. Because I am running this blog, I signed up to become an affiliate – if I get a fair amount of purchases through their affiliate program, I will hold a giveaway, featuring products from Glamour Doll Eyes.

While browsing their shadows last week, I came across their Blogger/Vlogger Review pack. It’s such a perfect pack for us makeup bloggers, as it features 6 full sized jars (2 – 2.5g of product in each jar) of eyeshadows of your choice, and at a discounted price. (The price will be discussed at the end of this post).

I ordered the following shades:

  • Blueberry Lush
  • Calypso
  • Hello Brooklyn
  • Nymphette
  • Rocket
  • Sex Appeal

I placed my order on the 26th of August, and it was shipped the next day. I’m not sure exactly what day it was posted to my PO box (we only check it every Friday, as it’s a fair drive away), but I received it on 7th September. Seeing as it’s international post, I think that’s pretty damn good! Especially seeing as it takes roughly the same time with Australia Post for something to travel interstate. Our postal system in Australia is an absolute joke…

Anyway! On to the review and swatches.

I received a small pile of promotional goodies in my package – business cards, a sticker, flyers on their products, etc. I also received two free samples – Ladies Night and Bearded Lady.

As you can see in the above photo, all the jars come shrink wrapped/in protective plastic packaging. I really like this – it’s just a peace of mind thing, and I’m sure it would stop the jars (somehow) coming open in the post and exploding everywhere. But at least it’d be pretty if that happened…

Now, before I start with the swatches, I am by no means a photography savvy person. I own a $40 digital camera, and it’s not the best camera in the world, but it gets the job done (to a certain degree). If you want better swatches, I would recommend going to Glamour Doll Eyes website and having a look at the swatches. For ease, I have linked each eyeshadow name to its page on GDE.

All eyeshadows were swatched over E.L.F’s Mineral Eye Primer and Fyrinnae’s Pixie Epoxy, on the back of my hand. I really do think the Pixie Epoxy brings out the best in the shadow and amplifies the colour and glitter. Although, I suppose any “tacky” base will do, as it gives the glitter something to adhere to.

Blueberry Lush – “a bright blue with medium sheen

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Ferric ferrocyanide, Tin Oxide, Zinc Oxide. This shade is vegan.

Safe for: eyes, face and nails.

I absolutely love Blueberry Lush! It’s definitely bright, and the sheen is nice without being overpowering. It has a nice, smooth texture to it and appears to be almost metallic in some light.

Calypso“a deepened teal with purple and gold sparkle”. This is part of GDE’s Blogger Collection. Calypso is named after/inspired by AliciaD372 from YouTube. This shade is vegan.

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Blue #1 Al Lake, Yellow #5 Al Lake, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Palmitic Acid, Preservatives, Iron Oxide, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, Silica.

Safe for: Eyes, lips, face and nails.

I really liked Calypso! I don’t own many teal shadows (actually, I don’t think I own any…), so this was a great starting point. The second swatch is a bit blurry, but it shows the gold and purple/pink sparkles. I haven’t seen many shades like this. I think this would make for a great smokey eye when paired with black.

Hello Brooklyn“a very unique blend of matte and shimmer. This color includes a matte black mixed with a shimmery green and blue”. This shade is vegan.

Ingredients: Zinc Oxide, Mica, Titanium Oxide, Ferric Ferrocyanide, Iron Oxide, Tin Oxide.

Safe for: Eyes, face and nails.

Hmm. I tried to like Hello Brooklyn, I really did. It went a bit patchy in the first swatch (as you might be able to see in the photo). I mean, the colour is absolutely stunning and I haven’t really ever seen a matte black mixed with a shimmery green/blue before. Maybe it might have been the Pixie Epoxy being too wet before applying it on… It was a little uneven too, as you can probably see. One part was shimmery and blue, and the other part was matte black with a tiny bit of glitter. Has anyone else had the same problem with this shade?

Nymphettea blackened purple blue with purple and blue sparkles”. This is part of GDE’s Blogger Collection. Calypso is named after/inspired by Nymphette’s blog. This shade is vegan.

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Tin Oxide, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Silica, Ferric Ferrocyanide.

Safe for: Eyes, face and nails.

Wow. This colour is so pretty! My terrible photos/swatches definitely do not do this shade justice. It really is fairly purple, which is hard to capture on camera. In the second photo, you can see all the pretty sparkles. This is definitely my favourite out of the 6 jars I ordered. I will hopefully do some looks with this fairly soon.

Rocket“a very unique color. It is almost a gray with blue and dark dark purple undertones with gold shimmer. Very complex color”. This shade is not vegan.

Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Ferric Ferrocyanide & Carmine.

Safe for: Eyes, face and nails.

I’m not sure what made me choose Rocket in this first place. Maybe because I don’t have enough shades like this? Most of my eyeshadow collection consists of purples and blues, and I think I needed something that wasn’t purple or blue. I didn’t mind this shade, however, I wasn’t really seeing the dark purple undertones in this shade. I could definitely see the gold shimmer, though, as you can see from the photos. It is fairly pretty though, despite the lack of purple and blue undertones. Maybe I just need to view it in a different light.

Sex Appeal“a gorgeous blend of silver and teal”. This shade is vegan.

Ingredients: Manganese Violet (Pigment Violet 16), Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Yellow #5, Blue #1, Palmitic Acid.

Safe for: Eyes, lips, face and nails.

This is another fairly striking shade. In the jar, you can definitely see the teal, and it blends quite nicely with the silver. It is really shimmery, and the colours blend nicely and evenly when rubbed on (all the swatches were gently patted on). I really can’t wait to use this shade.

That’s it for the full jar sizes! I didn’t swatch the sample sizes, just because I find it a bit of a challenge to do so, as they’re in baggies. All the previous GDE eyeshadow sample baggies I purchased a few months ago, I have put into small jars. I am planning to buy the entire collection, so stay tuned for that! Hopefully the swatches will a be a bit better next time.

Price: $23.40 for 6 full sized jars (2 – 2.5g of each product). Shipping to Australia was $6.12, which is extremely reasonable.

One thought on “Glamour Doll Eyes – Product Review

  1. Pingback: Fyrinnae – Product Review | A Broken Jar

Leave a Reply

