Customer Complaint – Myer

I wasn’t sure if I was going to publish this post or not, but good customer service is something I feel strongly about, having worked in retail and in office jobs, both in customer facing roles/customer service roles for the past 6 years. When I feel like I get treated poorly by a customer service representative, I feel like I should have the right to speak up about it, or complain.

An example of this is when I went to the Clinique counter at a Myer department store last Sunday. (I am not going to mention which Myer store this was). I was hoping to get some foundation, preferably Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow! by Benefit. When I got to there, I sadly discovered that the Myer I had gone into didn’t stock Benefit. So my next choice was a Clinique foundation, Stay Matte Oil-Free foundation in particular.

After waiting around to be served by the staff member at the Clinique counter (I was hanging around, looking at a nearby counter for about 40 minutes until she was free), I was colour matched, and it turned out that the two lightest shades in that foundation were far too yellow for my skin. So, the next one she (the staff member) suggested was Clinique’s Super Balanced Makeup, which adds moisture to dry areas, which is good for my combination/oily skin. She matched me to Alabaster, which looks extremely dark for my skintone, but seemed to blend in well.

I advised her that I had a $50 gift voucher to use that I had received for my birthday back in December, and that I would like to buy the foundation. She had a look, and they didn’t have any in stock. She offered to take my name and number, and to give me a call when my shade is in stock, which would be sometime during the week. I gave her my details, and then headed over to the Maxfactor display to grab their Flawless 3-in-1 foundation and Undereye Concealer I had been looking at while I was waiting for the lady from Clinique to serve me.

Now, I was grabbing these products because I needed concealer as I had run out, and because I needed some more foundation, and seeing as Clinique didn’t have my shade in stock, I couldn’t purchase what the staff member suggested to me.

Lo and behold, who serves me at the counter when I go to pay? The staff member from Clinique. Now, I’d hate to come across as being paranoid, but I’m almost certain she had a rather sour look on her face as she was serving me. I asked her again if she would give me a call when my shade came in, and she seemed bored and like she had to force a fake smile and say “yes”.

It’s now been a week, and I haven’t received a call in to say that my shade has come in. Having worked in retail before, I know stores get weekly shipments/deliveries of stock. Maybe it didn’t come in, and maybe I’m overreacting, but come on – if they didn’t have my shade in stock, what was I meant to do? Go barefaced until I received a call from Myer, saying that my shade had come in?

I’ve had issues with the Clinique counter in the past – I had a voucher to receive a free sample bag of their 3 Step Skincare Sets. I knew I was already going to be matched to oily skin, but when I went to get served, the staff member who served me (after I had to wait around for a considerable amount of time) pretty much didn’t even bother checking for sure which skin type I was and just handed me a small sample bag for oily skin. I can appreciate them being busy, but at this particular time they weren’t.

But anyway, I have sent an email to Myer in regards to the foundation issue to see what they have to say.

Has anyone else had a similar experience?

One thought on “Customer Complaint – Myer

  1. Actually, that person at the Clinique counter at Myer isn’t a Myer employee. Just like Harvey Norman, Myer is an old-style ‘department store’ in the sense that each department is a separate company. At Harvey Norman, that’s literally the way it runs. At Myer the cosmetics department is about 15-20 different companies. Clinique pay rent to Myer, and so long as they pay their rent, Myer don’t care whether Clnique make money or not.

Leave a Reply

