How I Care For My Copper Hair

As you would have read in my previous post, I have recently dyed my hair copper! Red and copper shades are the hardest to maintain, as the colour fades quicker than other colours.

Here is a list of what I use to maintain my colour, and a short review about them:

First of all, I use a colour depositing shampoo every second wash – De Lorenzo NovaFusion Copper Titan Shampoo (RRP $25.95)

I’m still not sure if I love this shampoo or not. The colour is great – it’s a metallic rich dark orange, almost bronze. However, after using it (and before using conditioner), it leaves my hair feeling dry, almost straw-like. I’m looking into purchasing Tressa’s WaterColors Liquid Copper Shampoo – this is an American brand, which I haven’t been able to find here. I’ve found it on Amazon and Ebay, ranging between $14 and $25. I’m not keen on my hair feeling like it’s been completely stripped, when it feels absolutely fine with my other colour protect shampoo.

When I’m not using De Lorenzo’s NovaFusion Copper Titan Shampoo, I use Matrix’s Total Results Colour Care shampoo ($22.95 for the shampoo and conditioner on sale at the moment). While this is not colour depositing, it’s still good for maintaining my colour, and leaves my hair feeling silky smooth. I also use the conditioner, which is lovely, thick and rich.

As far as treatments go, I use a hot oil treatment every once in a while – V05’s hot oil treatment from Priceline ($6.99 for a pack of 4). I’ve only used this once so far, and it hasn’t made a huge difference to my hair, but it hasn’t made it worse.

I also use, after conditioning, L’oreal Elvive Colour-Protect Masque ($11 for 300mL). It’s super thick, and smells lightly of strawberries. Makes my hair feel ridiculously silky, too!

Do any of my lovely readers have copper, or even red, coloured hair? What products do you like to use? Please share below 🙂

Leave a Reply

